Monthly Archives: February 2015


Prison Blues Now On Youtube!

25

Feb 2015

Prison Blues Now On Youtube!

Prison Blues It is estimated that 80% of inmates who “find faith” in prison, convert to Islam. Prison Blues, a Ta’leef Collective documentary film, directed and produced by Mustafa Davis tells the riveting and unheard story of the harsher realties inside the prison industrial complex in the United States through the lens of a Muslim spiritual narrative. Prison Blues explores the reality of incarceration in...

Continue...


REVISITING THE THIRD PLACE with Usama Canon

24

Feb 2015

REVISITING THE THIRD PLACE with Usama Canon

Revisiting the Third Place by Usama Canon Well before it was even named as such, Ta’leef Collective was a group of people who met regularly for one shared goal: spiritual growth. The meetings grew, as did the spaces where we met, and Ta’leef formalized into an organization. A few years into our journey, a close friend of mine sought to capture the warmth and congeniality...

Continue...


Inheritors Circle Relaunch

19

Feb 2015

Inheritors Circle Relaunch

As the African proverb teaches us, “If the youth are not initiated into the village, they will burn it down just to feel its warmth." The wellness of a community’s youth will determine that community’s sustainability, and their initiation as leaders will prepare it for the future’s challenges and opportunities. Our community is at a critical juncture, perhaps one of the most trying in it’s...

Continue...


Chicago: Learning our Religion

18

Feb 2015

Chicago: Learning our Religion

"Learning Our Religion"is a weekly class for those new to practicing and those interested in Islam. Referencing Qu’ran, Hadith, and basic rulings of law, this class will explore in depth the core articles of the faith, how to perform essential acts of worship, specifically the five pillars of Islam, and provide attendees with an opportunity to develop a familiarity with basic knowledge of fiqh (jurisprudence)...

Continue...


FEB 15 #TaleefLIVE @ 7:30pm

15

Feb 2015

FEB 15 #TaleefLIVE @ 7:30pm

‪ #‎TaleefLIVE‬ "Counsels Of Religion" by Imam al Haddad session begins at 7:30pm (PST).  INSTRUCTOR: Usama Canon DATE: February 16, 2015 LOCATION: Ta'leef Fremont (43170 Osgood Rd)  ONLINE: www.taleefcollective.org/taleefLIVE 7:30pm San Francisco 10:30pm New York 3:30am London 7:30am Dubai 8:30am Karachi 10:30am Jakarta 11:30am Kuala Lumpur 12:30pm Tokyo 2:30pm Sydney


Let Us Mock the Muslims by Imam Zaid Shakir

10

Feb 2015

Let Us Mock the Muslims by Imam Zaid Shakir

EXCERPT: .. "the fruit of mockery is bitter and the seeds it carries only give birth to evil, an evil that oozes from the stinking corpse of dead heroism, rotten culture and brutish insensitivity to the pain and hardship one afflicts on others"


Ta’leef Chicago: Living with the Prophet

09

Feb 2015

Ta’leef Chicago: Living with the Prophet

Chicago: please help us spread the word and mark your calendars: LIVING WITH THE PROPHET (weekly class) INSTRUCTOR: Ustadh Hisham Mahmoud WHEN: Thursdays, February 12th to April 2nd, 8:00 to 9:30 pm WHERE: 613 W Bittersweet Pl, Chicago, IL 60613 COST: Free     For questions, contact chicago@taleefcollective.org.  


PRISON BLUES Online Global Release

07

Feb 2015

PRISON BLUES Online Global Release

We are very excited to announce the official Online Release date for PRISON BLUES on Presidents Day (Feb 16). We are releasing the film online for FREE on our new website. PRISON BLUES ONLINE RELEASE Monday – February 16, 2015 | 6:00pm (PST) www.taleefcollective.org/prisonblues   ABOUT THE FILM: It is estimated that 80% of inmates who “find faith” in prison, convert to Islam. Prison Blues,...

Continue...



Page 1 of 212